MINUTES OF THE KĀPITI COAST DISTRICT COUNCIL CLIMATE AND ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE MEETING HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, GROUND FLOOR, 175 RIMU ROAD, PARAPARAUMU ON TUESDAY, 8 APRIL 2025 AT 9.32AM

PRESENT: Cr Jocelyn Prvanov (Chair), Cr Sophie Handford, Mayor Janet Holborow, Cr

Shelly Warwick, Ms Kim Tahiwi, Mr Christian Judge, Mr Glen Olsen, Mr Tim

Sutton

Via Zoom: Cr Glen Cooper, Mr Michael Moore, Mr Simon Black

IN ATTENDANCE: Deputy Mayor Lawrence Kirby, Cr Martin Halliday, Mr Darren Edwards, Mr

Sean Mallon, Mr Jason Holland, Ms Steffi Haefeli, Ms Hara Adams, Mr Brendan Owens, Ms Kate Coutts, Ms Anna Smith, Mr Evan Dubisky, Mr Robbie Stillwell, Mr David Binstead, Ms Philippa Ross-James, Mr Fraser Miller, Ms Gina Anderson-Lister, Mr Matthew Adamson, Mr Damian Ryan, Mr

Mark Martin

WHAKAPĀHA | APOLOGIES: Cr Liz Koh

1 NAU MAI | WELCOME

The Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting.

2 KARAKIA A TE KAUNIHERA | COUNCIL BLESSING

At the invitation of the Chair, Cr Sophie Handford read the Council blessing.

3 WHAKAPĀHA | APOLOGIES

APOLOGY

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION CEC2025/8

Moved: Cr Jocelyn Prvanov Seconder: Cr Sophie Handford

That the apology received from Cr Liz Koh be accepted.

CARRIED

4 TE TAUĀKĪ O TE WHAITAKE KI NGĀ MEA O TE RĀRANGI TAKE | DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST RELATING TO ITEMS ON THE AGENDA

There were no declarations of interest relating to items on the agenda.

5 HE WĀ KŌRERO KI TE MAREA MŌ NGĀ MEA E HĀNGAI ANA KI TE RĀRANGI TAKE | PUBLIC SPEAKING TIME FOR ITEMS RELATING TO THE AGENDA

There were no public speakers at the meeting.

6 NGĀ TEPUTEIHANA | DEPUTATIONS

There were no deputations at the meeting.

7 NGĀ TAKE A NGĀ MEMA | MEMBERS' BUSINESS

- (a) There were no requests for a leave of absence.
- (b) There were no matters of an urgent nature.

8 HE KŌRERO HOU | UPDATES

8.1 WASTE MANAGEMENT & MINIMISATION PLAN (2023-2029) IMPLEMENTATION UPDATE

Robbie Stillwell, Manager Waste Projects, and David Binstead, Senior Advisor Waste Minimisation, spoke to the presentation contained within the agenda and answered members' questions.

Kim Tahiwi left the meeting at 9.37am and returned to the meeting at 9:39am.

Michael Moore left the meeting at 10.10am and returned to the meeting 10.11am.

The Mayor left the meeting at 10.13am.

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION CEC2025/9

Moved: Mr Christian Judge Seconder: Cr Shelly Warwick

That the Climate and Environment Committee:

A. **Note** the update provided.

CARRIED

The Mayor returned to the meeting at 10.17am.

8.2 TRANSPORT PATHWAY NETWORK PLAN

Sean Mallon, Group Manager Infrastructure and Asset Management, Fraser Miller, Team Lead Walking, and Cycling, Philippa Ross-James, Senior Advisor Communications and Engagement, and Mark Martin, Team Leader Roading Asset Management, spoke to the appended presentation providing an update on the Transport Pathway Network Plan, and answered members' questions.

Michael Moore left the meeting at 10.33am and returned to the meeting at 10.34am.

Michael Moore left the meeting at 10.36am and returned to the meeting at 10.37am.

Michael Moore left the meeting at 11.31am and returned to the meeting at 11.32am.

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION CEC2025/10

Moved: Mayor Janet Holborow Seconder: Cr Shelly Warwick

That the Climate and Environment Committee recommend the Strategy, Operations and Finance

Committee accept the Transport Pathway Network Plan.

CARRIED

Appendices

1 Transport Pathway Network Plan Presentation

The meeting adjourned at 11.39am and reconvened at 11.54am.

8.3 ENVIRONMENT STRATEGY APPROACH

Jason Holland, Acting Group Manager Strategy and Growth, Gina Anderson-Lister, Manager Strategy, and Matthew Adamson, Strategic Advisor, spoke to the presentation contained within the agenda and answered members' questions.

Michael Moore left the meeting at 12.02pm and returned to the meeting at 12.05pm.

Members provided feedback on the scope and delivery options for the Environment Strategy Approach.

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION CEC2025/11

Moved: Mayor Janet Holborow Seconder: Cr Sophie Handford

That the Climate and Environment Committee:

- A. **Note** the base framework, principles and focus areas for the Environment Strategy were developed, in advance of work "pausing" in late 2024 due to delays in the progress of Te Whaitua o Kāpiti and pending changes from the Resource Management Act reforms.
- B. **Provide** feedback on Environment Strategy scope and phasing options (**Appendix One**).

CARRIED

9 PŪRONGO | REPORTS

9.1 REVIEW OF DRAFT CLIMATE MITIGATION STRATEGY AHEAD OF PUBLIC CONSULTATION

Staff recommendation *E* within Item 9.1 on the agenda was revised by the Climate and Environment Committee, and staff recommendations *A* and *C* were removed.

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION CEC2025/12

Moved: Mayor Janet Holborow Seconder: Cr Sophie Handford

That the Climate and Environment Committee:

- B. **Note** that this latest draft builds on recent feedback from the Strategy, Operations and Finance Committee, Council activity managers, and local climate community stakeholders.
- D. **Note** that early engagement with mana whenua partners, Council advisory groups and key stakeholders is planned, ahead of formal public engagement in May 2025.
- E. **Note** that this draft strategy will go to the Strategy, Operations and Finance Committee on 15 May 2025 for approval for public consultation.

CARRIED

The Chair advised that members may provide feedback regarding the draft strategy to Cr Sophie Handford, Chair of the Strategy, Operations and Finance Committee, ahead of the draft strategy

being considered for public consultation at the Strategy, Operations and Finance Committee meeting of 15 May 2025.

10 TE WHAKAŪ I NGĀ ĀMIKI | CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

10.1 CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION CEC2025/13

Moved: Mr Glen Olsen Seconder: Cr Shelly Warwick

That the minutes of the Climate and Environment Committee meeting of 20 February 2025 be

accepted as a true and correct record.

CARRIED

11 KARAKIA WHAKAMUTUNGA | CLOSING KARAKIA

At the invitation of the Chair, Cr Sophie Handford closed the meeting with karakia whakamutunga.

The Te Komiti Āhuarangi me te Taiao | Climate and Environment Committee meeting closed at 12.28pm.

HEAMANA CHAIRPERSON