MINUTES OF THE KĀPITI COAST DISTRICT COUNCIL SOCIAL SUSTAINABILITY SUBCOMMITTEE MEETING HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, GROUND FLOOR, 175 RIMU ROAD, PARAPARAUMU ON THURSDAY, 19 SEPTEMBER 2024 AT 9.31AM

- **PRESENT:** Deputy Mayor Lawrence Kirby (Chair), Cr Martin Halliday (via Zoom), Mayor Janet Holborow, Cr Nigel Wilson, Mr Jonny Best, Ms Kim Tahiwi, Mr Michael Moore
- **IN ATTENDANCE:** Cr Sophie Handford (via Zoom), Mr Brendan Owens, Ms Kris Pervan, Ms Anna Smith, Ms Kate Coutts, Mr Evan Dubisky, Ms Emma Haxton, Ms Morag Taimalietane, Monique Engelen, Gina Anderson-Lister

WHAKAPĀHA |Cr Rob Kofoed, Cr Kathy Spiers, Ms Sorcha Ruth (Paekākāriki Community
Board), Mr Guy Burns (Paraparaumu Community Board)

1 NAU MAI | WELCOME

Brendan Owens, Group Manager Customer and Community welcomed everyone to the meeting in the Chair and Deputy Chair's absence. The Social Sustainability Subcommittee then proceeded to elect a Chairperson for the duration of the meeting.

ELECTION OF MEETING CHAIRPERSON IN THE ABSENCE OF THE CHAIR AND DEPUTY CHAIR

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION SSS2024/25

Moved: Mr Michael Moore Seconder: Mayor Janet Holborow

That Deputy Mayor Lawrence Kirby be elected to act as chairperson for the duration of the 19 September 2024 Social Sustainability Subcommittee meeting.

CARRIED

2 KARAKIA A TE KAUNIHERA | COUNCIL BLESSING

At the invitation of the Chair, the Mayor read the Council blessing.

3 WHAKAPĀHA | APOLOGIES

APOLOGY

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION SSS2024/26

Moved: Cr Nigel Wilson Seconder: Mr Michael Moore

That the apology received from Cr Rob Kofoed, Cr Kathy Spiers, Ms Sorcha Ruth, and Mr Guy Burns be accepted.

CARRIED

4 TE TAUĀKĪ O TE WHAITAKE KI NGĀ MEA O TE RĀRANGI TAKE | DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST RELATING TO ITEMS ON THE AGENDA

The Chair noted that he had an interest in a Social Investment Fund recipient Kapiti Impact Trust, which briefly features in Item 8.1 *Update on Social Investment* within the agenda.

5 HE WĀ KŌRERO KI TE MAREA MŌ NGĀ MEA E HĀNGAI ANA KI TE RĀRANGI TAKE | PUBLIC SPEAKING TIME FOR ITEMS RELATING TO THE AGENDA

There were public speakers at the meeting.

6 NGĀ TEPUTEIHANA | DEPUTATIONS

6.1 KĀPITI HEALTH ADVISORY GROUP WORK PROGRAMME UPDATE

Sandra Daly, Chair of the Kāpiti Health Advisory Group, alongside Janet Dean, Ian Powell and Clare Hynd, the leads of the Group's Tamariki and Rangatahi, Access to Services, and Mental Health workstreams, spoke to the appended presentation to provide an update on the workstreams, and answered Subcommittee members' questions.

Appendices

1

Presentation - Kapiti Health Advisory Group

The meeting adjourned at 10.44am and reconvened at 10.56am.

7 NGĀ TAKE A NGĀ MEMA | MEMBERS' BUSINESS

- (a) There were no requests for a leave of absence.
- (b) There were no Matters of an Urgent Nature.
- (c) Members' Items was moved to a later part of the meeting.

8 HE KŌRERO HOU | UPDATES

Cr Nigel Wilson returned to the meeting at 11.03am after the adjournment.

8.1 UPDATE ON SOCIAL INVESTMENT

Emma Haxton, Team Leader Connected Communities and Monique Engelen, Manager Climate Action and Connected Communities spoke to the appended presentation to provide an update on Social Investment, and alongside Brendan Owens, Group Manager Customer and Community, answered Subcommittee members' questions.

Michael Moore left the meeting at 11.19am and returned at 11.20am.

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION SSS2024/27

Moved: Cr Nigel Wilson Seconder: Ms Kim Tahiwi

That the Social Sustainability Subcommittee **note** the update on the Social Investment Fund heading into Year 3 of the funding.

CARRIED

Appendices

1 Presentation - Update on Social Investment

Item 7(c) Members' Item was moved from earlier in the meeting. There were no updates on Members' Items to be provided.

9 TE WHAKAŪ I NGĀ ĀMIKI | CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

9.1 CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION SSS2024/28

Moved: Cr Nigel Wilson Seconder: Mr Jonny Best

That the minutes of the Social Sustainability Subcommittee meeting of 1 August 2024 be accepted as a true and correct record.

CARRIED

10 KARAKIA WHAKAMUTUNGA | CLOSING KARAKIA

At the invitation of the Chair, Kim Tahiwi closed the meeting with karakia whakamutunga.

The Te Komiti Whāiti Toitūtanga Pāpori | Social Sustainability Subcommittee meeting closed at 11.50am.

.....

HEAMANA | CHAIRPERSON